Tags

, , , ,

I often find solace in music both in the melody but also in the words. I believe that song writers are philosophers of our time. Time and again I find that their words express my very thoughts. One such song which over the years has caught my attention and brought me comfort is “I’m Tired Joey Boy”. This is a song of one of my favourite philosopher-song-writer-singer-musician, Van Morrison.  I want to share some of the lyrics of this song with you,

This life is so simple when one is at home

And I’m never complaining when there’s work to be done

 

Oh, I’m tired Joey Boy of the makings of men

I would like to be cheerful again

 

Ambition will take you, ride you too far

And conservatism bring you to boredom once more

 

Sit down by the river, watch the stream flow

Recall all the dreams that you once used to know

 

Things you’ve forgotten took you away

Pastures not greener but meaner

 

Love of the simple is all that I need

I’ve no time for schism or lovers of greed

 

Go up to the mountain, go up to the glen

When silence will touch you and heartbreak will mend

Just listening to this beautiful ballad takes me to the mountain, to the glen.